The Champions of The Hassan II Golf Trophy

The Hassan II Golf Trophy once again welcomes The PGA Tour Champions players at the Royal Golf Dar Es Salam.

This event is likely to revive memories, as the DNA of the Champions Tour tournaments is similar to that of the Hassan II Trophies.

Indeed, as early as 1971, the Hassan II Golf Trophy, born under the vision of His Late Majesty King Hassan II, amazed the public with a spectacular parade of world-class players, to the delight of an attendance of enthusiasts.

Orville Moody won the first edition of the tournament in 1971. The 1969 U.S. Open champion thus inaugurated the prestigious list of winners of this event, paving the way for the other 16 North American victories to date.

Thanks to their charisma, three of these winners have left their mark on the history of the competition.

In 2015, during the Hassan II Golf Trophy award ceremony, chaired over by His Royal Highness Prince Moulay Rachid, a tribute was paid to the double winner of 1973 and 1975 tournaments, Billy Casper. He was
a true ambassador of Morocco, cherished by the Moroccan public in return to the undeniable love he had for the Kingdom.

Lee Trevino, the winner of 1977 tournament, at the top of his game, stirred up crowds with his contagious “joie de vivre” and his one-of-a-kind ball strike.

Payne Stewart is the latest winner of these three monuments of world golf. Apart from his undeniable talent, the iconic Knickers fan seduced the public with his elegance and simplicity.

Year after year, the passage of members of the World Golf Hall Of Fame continued to enchant an increasingly larger and keener attendance.

Vijay Singh, then still unknown to the crowds, won in 1991. Nick Price, then world No.1, won in 1995. Colin Montgomerie won in 1997. Padraig Harington and Ernie Els respectively won the Dagger in 2007 and 2008 for what would be the last «invitational» edition.

While some triumphed, others were unable to add their names to the list of winners. Nevertheless, they have affected the memory of this sport’s fans.

Gary Player, Seve Ballesteros, José Maria Olazábal, Hale Irwin, Bernhard Langer, Sandy Lyle and Mark O’meara have all walked the fairways of the Red Course.

Many of these golfers are active on the Champions Tour and the future looks bright with the recent arrival of Champions such as Ernie Els, Jim Furyk and Steve Stricker.

The crowds both connoisseurs and neophytes alike had the opportunity to watch 66 legends of world golf at the Hassan II Golf Trophy. Purists enjoyed the Return of the Champions with the greatest emotions.

48th Hassan II Trophy

Technical sheet

Date22 - 24 February 2024
CourseRed Course
Number of players66
FormulaThree rounds in stroke play without cut.
"Sudden death" play off in case of a tie.
Pro-am at the opening of the tournament.
TitleholderRicardo Gonzalez (ARG)